Connect

Wilderness Stewardship Groups around the Country

The National Wilderness Stewardship Alliance’s big goal of having every Wilderness area in the county served by a Wilderness stewardship organization can come true because of all the hard work by dedicated volunteers and agency staff working together to manage our incredible resource of Wilderness!  The NWSA is attempting to keep a current list of the wilderness stewardship groups out there so we can all better network and learn from one another. Feel free to reach out and connect!

If your organization isn’t on the list – we want to know, Click Here


AK

Sitka Conservation Society - http://www.sitkawild.org/

Southeast Alaska Conservation Council - www.seacc.org

AL

Wild South Alabama Field Office - http://www.wildsouth.org/

Back Country Horsemen of Alabama - www.backcountryhorsemenal.com

Alabama Trails Association - http://mygreenbirmingham.com/greenguide/alabama-trails-association/

AR

Ozark Highlands Trail Association - www.ozarkhighlandstrail.org

Friends of the Ouachita Trail - www.friendsot.org

Back Country Horsemen of Arkansas - www.arkansasbch.org

Arkansas Headwaters Wilderness Partners - garna.org/uawv/

AZ

Arizona Wilderness Coalition - www.azwild.org

White Mountain Conservation League - http://azwmcl.org/blog/

Sky Island Alliance - http://www.skyislandalliance.org/

Grand Canyon Trust - http://www.grandcanyontrust.org/

Friends of the Forest Sedona - www.friendsoftheforestsedona.org

Wilderness Volunteers - www.wildernessvolunteers.org

Back Country Horsemen of Arizona - www.bchaz.org

CA

San Gorgonio Wilderness Association - www.sgwa.org

Friends of the Inyo - www.friendsoftheinyo.org

Desolation Wilderness Volunteers - www.desowv.org

Ventana Wilderness Alliance - http://ventanawild.org/

Angeles Volunteer Association - http://www.angelesvolunteers.org/index.html

California Wilderness Coalition - http://www.calwild.org/

High Sierra Volunteer Trail Crew - http://trailcrew.org/

Sierra Club Santa Ana Mountains Task Force - http://angeles.sierraclub.org/sam/

Eldorado National Forest Interpretive Association - http://www.enfia.info/

Backcountry Horsemen of California - http://www.bchcalifornia.org/

Pacific Crest Trail Association - http://www.pcta.org/

Wild Places - http://www.wildplaces.net/

Forest Service Volunteer Association - www.fsva.org

Back to Natives Restoration - www.backtonatives.org

Santa Ana Mountains Natural History Association - www.freewebs.com/santaanamountains/

Habitat Works - http://habitatwork.org

Los Padres Forest Association - www.lpforest.org

Kaiser Wilderness Foundation - www.kaiserwilderness.org

Stanislaus Wilderness Volunteers - www.swv1.org

River Exchange - www.riverexchange.org

Condor Trail Association, Inc. - www.condortrail.com

Los Padres ForestWatch - lpfw.org

Back Country Horsemen of California - Los Padres Un - www.bchc-lpunit.org

Student Conservation Association - www.thesca.org/

Volunteer Corps - www.wildernesscorps.com

 

CO

Arkansas Headwaters Wilderness Partners - www.garna.org

Upper Arkansas Wilderness Volunteers - www.garna.org

Friends of the Eagles Nest Wilderness - www.fenw.org

Grand County Wilderness Group - www.gcwg.org/

Poudre Wilderness Volunteers - www.poudrewildernessvolunteers.org/

Friends of the Dillon Ranger District - www.fdrd.org/

Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers - www.rfov.org/

Friends of Mount Evans & Lost Creek Wildernesses - http://www.fomelc.org/

Aspen Center for Environmental Studies - http://www.aspennature.org/

Forest Conservancy - http://forestconservancy.com/

San Juan Mountains Association - http://www.sjma.org/

Great Old Broads for Wilderness - http://greatoldbroads.org/

Ouray Trails - www.ouraytrails.org

Back Country Horsemen of Colorado - www.bchcolorado.org

Friends of Wilderness - www.friendsofwilderness.com/

Indian Peaks Wilderness Alliance - www.indianpeakswilderness.org

Colorado Fourteeners Initiative - http://www.14ers.org/

Colorado Mountain Club - http://www.cmc.org/

Volunteers for Outdoor Colorado - http://www.voc.org/

Rocky Mountain Field Institute - http://www.rmfi.org/

Wilderness Workshop - http://www.wildernessworkshop.org/

The Wilderness Land Trust - www.wildernesslandtrust.org

Rocky Mountain Back Country Horsemen - www.rmbch.com

Colorado Fourteeners Initiative - www.14ers.org

Front Range Backcountry Horsemen of America - www.frontrangebackcountryhorsemen.org

San Juan Back Country Horsemen - www.sjbch.org

FL

Back Country Horsemen of Florida - www.bchfl.org

GA

Conasauga District Trail Volunteers - http://teamconasauga.org/

Back Country Horsemen of Northwest Georgia - www.bchnwg.org

Okefenokee Wildlife League, Inc. - eventvista.wix.com/okefenokeewlleague

ID

Selway-Bitterroot Frank Church Foundation - http://www.selwaybitterroot.org/

Back Country Horsemen of Idaho - www.bchi.org

Winter Wildlands Alliance - www.winterwildlands.org

Idaho Trails Association - www.idahotrailsassociation.org

Idaho Conservation League - https://www.idahoconservation.org

Youth Employment Program, Inc. - www.youthemploymentprogram.org

Friends of the Clearwater - www.friendsoftheclearwater.org

Friends of Scotchman Peaks Wilderness - http://www.scotchmanpeaks.org/

KY

Kentucky Back Country Horsemen - www.kybch.com

MD

American Hiking Society - http://www.americanhiking.org/

MI

North Country Trail Association - www.northcountrytrail.org

MN

Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness - www.friends-bwca.org/

Northwoods Volunteer Connection - www.mnnvc.org

MO

Show-Me Missouri Back Country Horsemen - www.showmebch.org

MT

Montana Wilderness Association - www.wildmontana.org/index.php

Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness Foundation - www.abwilderness.org

The Wilderness Institute - www.cfc.umt.edu/WI/

Bob Marshall Wilderness Foundation - www.bmwf.org/

Back Country Horsemen of Montana - www.bchmt.org

Swan Valley Connections - www.svconnections.org

Yaak Valley Forest Council - http://yaakvalley.org/

Selway-Bitterroot Frank Church Foundation - http://www.selwaybitterroot.org/

Great Burn Study Group - www.greatburnstudygroup.org

Last Chance Back Country Horsemen - www.bchmt.org/lcbch

NC

Back Country Horsemen of North Carolina - www.bchofnc.org

Partners of Joyce Kilmer Slickrock Wildernss - http://www.joycekilmerslickrock.org/

WildSouth - www.wildsouth.org

Southern Appalachian Wilderness Stewards - www.trailcrews.org

NM

New Mexico Wilderness Alliance - http://www.nmwild.org/

Back Country Horsemen of New Mexico - www.bchnm.org

New Mexico Volunteers for the Outdoors - http://nmvfo.org/

Nicodemus Wilderness Project - www.wildernessproject.org

NV

Friends of Nevada Wilderness - www.nevadawilderness.org/

Friends of Gold Butte - www.friendsofgoldbutte.org

Friends of the Black Rock High Rock - www.blackrockdesert.org

Back Country Horsemen of Nevada - http://bchnv.com/

OR

Back Country Horsemen of Oregon - www.bcho.org

Hells Canyon Preservation Council - http://www.hellscanyon.org/home/

Wallowa Resources - http://www.wallowaresources.org/index.php

High Cascades Forest Volunteers - www.highcascadesvolunteers.com

Oregon Equestrian Trails - www.oregonequestriantrails.org

Friends of Oregon Badlands Wilderness - www.fobbits.org

Friends of Central Cascades Wilderness - www.centralcascades.org

Phoenix School of Roseburg - www.roseburgphoenix.com

PA

Friends of Allegheny Wilderness  - http://www.pawild.org/

SD

Back Country Horsemen of South Dakota - www.bchofsouthdakota.com

TN

Southern Appalachian Wilderness Stewards - http://www.trailcrews.org/

Back Country Horsemen of East Tennessee - www.bchet.org

UT

Southern Utah Wilderness Alliance - http://www.suwa.org/

Four Corners School of Outdoor Education - http://www.fourcornersschool.org/

Friends of Kings Peak - www.friendsofkingspeak.org

Cottonwood Canyons Foundation - www.cottonwoodcanyons.org

VA

Potomac Appalachian Trail Club - www.patc.net

Mount Rogers Appalachian Trail Club - http://mratc.pbworks.com/w/page/8862374/FrontPage

Back Country Horsemen of Virginia - www.bchva.org

Student Conservation Association - http://www.thesca.org/

Natural Bridge Appalachian Trail Club - www.nbatc.org

VT

Vermont Youth Conservation Corps - www.vycc.org

Moosalamoo Association - http://www.moosalamoo.org/

WA

North Cascades Conservation Council - http://www.northcascades.org/

Washington Trails Association - http://www.wta.org/

Pacific Northwest Trail Association - www.pnt.org

Back Country Horsemen of Washington State - http://www.bchw.org/

WI

Friends of Sylvania - www.friendsofsylvania.org/

WV

Appalachian Forest Heritage Area - http://www.appalachianforest.us/index.htm

Appalachian Trail Conservancy - http://www.appalachiantrail.org/

West Virginia Highlands Conservancy - http://www.wvhighlands.org/

WY

Wyoming Back Country Horsemen - www.wyobch.org

Wyoming Wilderness Association - www.wildwyo.org